World Health Assembly

World Health Assembly

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has addressed the 76th Session of the World Health Assembly in Geneva, Switzerland on Sunday via video message.  

In his address for the event , he said the covid-19 pandemic underscored the need for greater collaboration in building resilient global systems and boosting the global health equity.  

PM congratulated the World Health Organization (WHO) on completing 75 years. 

The Seventy-sixth World Health Assembly is being held in Geneva, Switzerland, on 21–30 May 2023.

World Health Assembly 
The World Health Assembly (WHA) is the main decision-making body of World Health Organization and is comprised of 194 Member States. It is attended by delegations from all WHO Member States and focuses on a specific health agenda prepared by the Executive Board. 

At the Health Assembly, country delegates make decisions on health goals and strategies that will guide their own public health work and the work of the WHO Secretariat to move the world towards better health and well-being for all. 

The Health Assembly also serves as a forum for reporting back on the implementation of the areas of work set, in order to determine what has been achieved and decide on strategies for addressing the gaps. 

Main functions of the World Health Assembly
The main functions of the World Health Assembly are to determine the policies of the Organization, appoint the Director-General, supervise financial policies, and review and approve the proposed programme budget. 


Key Takeaways

  • The World Health Assembly (WHA) is the main decision-making body of World Health Organization 
  • The World Health Assembly (WHA) is comprised of 194 Member States. 
  • The Health Assembly is held annually in Geneva, Switzerland.