Twenty Second Law Commission

Twenty Second Law Commission

The Government has constituted the 22nd Law Commission of India for a period of three year with effect from 21st February, 2020. The term of 22nd Law Commission has since been extended upto 31st August, 2024. Its members are primarily legal experts.

The composition of 22ndLaw Commission of India are as under: 

(i) a full-time Chairperson;

(ii) four full-time Members (including Member-Secretary);

(iii) Secretary, Department of Legal Affairs as ex officio Member;

(iv) Secretary, Legislative Department as ex officio Member; and

(v) not more than five part-time Members.

The Government has appointed Chairperson, four Full-time Members (including Member-Secretary) and two Part-time Members in the 22nd Law Commission of India.

Key Takeaways

• The Law Commission of India is a non-statutory body constituted by the Government of India from time to time.

• Law Commission works as an advisory body to the Ministry of Law and Justice.

• The first Law Commission of independent India was established in 1955 for a three-year term. Since then, twenty one more Commissions have been established.