Singapore Open 2022: PV Sindhu wins first Super 500 title

Singapore Open 2022: Ace Indian Shuttler PV Sindhu has won the Singapore Open 2022.

Key Highlights:

  • She acquired the first Super 500 title in her career, after defeating Asian champion Wang Zhi Yi from China.
  • She secured the title, by defeating Wang Zhi Yi by 21-9, 11-21, 21-15 in the final of the Singapore Open.
  • This is her first 500 or better since the world championship win in 2019.
  • In 2022 she also won two titles in Super 300, before this win.
  • However, she has made it to the semi-finals 7 times and quarters 10 times in 13 tournaments.
  • The title run will be a big boost for Sindhu, who will be leading India's charge at the Commonwealth Games, starting 28 July in Birmingham.

In men’s Single:

  • Anthony Sinisuka Ginting won the men’s singles title at badminton’s Singapore Open 2022.
  • Olympic bronze medallist Ginting from Indonesia beat unseeded Japanese player Naraoka Kodai in a closely fought final.

About Singapore Badminton Association:

  • Singapore Badminton Association (SBA)   is the national governing body for badminton in Singapore.
  • It governs, encourages and develops the sport throughout the country.
  • The body is an affiliate of Singapore National Olympic Council (SNOC).
  • SBA is also a member of the Badminton World Federation (BWF) and Badminton Asia.
  • As of now, it has 32 member clubs across the country.

Singapore Open:

  • Singapore Open has been held in Singapore annually since 1929.
  • The Singapore Open has been categorized as one of the seven BWF World Tour Super 500 events in the BWF events structure since 2018 by the Badminton World Federation.
  • In 2023, the tournament will be upgraded to a Super 750 event.

About Badminton World Federation (BWF):

  • The Badminton World Federation (BWF) is the international governing body for the sport of badminton recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).
  • It was founded on 5 July 1934 as the International Badminton Federation with nine member nations namely, Canada, England, Denmark, Ireland, France, New Zealand, Netherlands, Wales and Scotland.
  • The present name Badminton World Federation (BWF) was adopted at the Extraordinary General Meeting held on 24 September 2006, in Madrid. 
  • It is headquartered in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
  • The current president of BWF is Poul-Erik Høyer Larsen.