National Green Tribunal (NGT)

National Green Tribunal (NGT)

Justice Adarsh Kumar Goel who had taken over National Green Tribunal as Chairperson on 06.07.2018 completed his tenure of 5 years on 06.07.2023. During his period of 5 years, Justice Goel had brought in several innovative and people friendly methods for providing justice in the area of environment.

The Central Government has appointed Justice Sheo Kumar Singh-I, Judicial Member of the National Green Tribunal (NGT), to act as the Chairperson of the NGT until the date on which a new Chairperson is appointed.

The National Green Tribunal was established in 2010 under the National Green Tribunal Act 2010. It was established for effective and expeditious disposal of cases relating to environmental protection and conservation of forests and other natural resources including enforcement of any legal right relating to environment and giving relief and compensation for damages to persons and property and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto. 

National Green Tribunal is a specialized body equipped with the necessary expertise to handle environmental disputes involving multi-disciplinary issues. The Tribunal shall not be bound by the procedure laid down under the Code of Civil Procedure, 1908, but shall be guided by principles of natural justice. 

National Green Tribunal was established by Government of India under National Green Tribunal Act, 2010. 

The main objective of National Green Tribunal is efficacious and expeditious handling cases related to environmental protection, forest conservation, natural resource preservation, pollution compensation, and environmental restitution.

Since inception National Green Tribunal has been taking up cases relating to environment such as Air pollution, Noise pollution, Water pollution, Industrial pollution, waste disposal etc.

Composition of National Green Tribunal 

With Headquarters in Delhi, NGT consists of chairperson who should have been retired as Supreme Court judge. 

The Judicial members of the tribunal should have been retired as Judge of the High Courts. 

National Green Tribunal bench consists of ten Judicial Members and ten Expert Members. 
Any person having a professional qualification with 15 years minimum experience in the subjects of forest conservation and environment and similar areas can qualify for expert member. 

The principal National Green Tribunal bench is located in Delhi, with other benches sitting in Bhopal, Pune, Kolkata and Chennai