European Union grants candidate status to Ukraine, Moldova and Georgia

European Union grants candidate status to Ukraine, Moldova and Georgia

European Union Candidate Status: The European Parliament recently approved the EU candidacy status for Ukraine, Moldova and Georgia in a convincing vote.

Key Points:

  • This was announced by European Council President Charles Michel after discussions among leaders of the EU's 27 member states.
  • A total of 529 votes were cast for the resolution to defer the status of the three countries, while 45 voted against the proposal.
  • Another 14 politicians abstained.
  • The European Parliament also approved EU candidacy for Georgia.
  • In order to join the 27-member EU bloc, the three countries will be required to carry out a series of political and economic reforms.
  • The European Council, which comprises the heads of all 27 EU governments, would have the final vote on Ukraine’s membership.
  • The vote must be unanimous.
  • However, according to diplomats, the process could take a decade to complete. 
  • The vote came as the U.S. said, it was sending 450 million dollars more in military aid to Ukraine, including some additional medium-range rocket systems.

About European Council (EC):

  • EC is an executive body of the EU, responsible for proposing legislation, implementing decisions, upholding the EU treaties and managing the day-to-day business of the EU.
  • The EU is a group of 27 countries that operate as a cohesive economic and political block.
  • The Commission is divided into departments known as Directorates-General (DGs) that can be likened to departments or ministries headed by a director-general who is responsible to a commissioner.


  • It operates as a cabinet government, with 28 members of the Commission.
  • There is one member per member state. These members are proposed by member countries and European Parliament gives final approval to them.
  • One of the 28 members is the Commission President proposed by the European Council and elected by the European Parliament.

The European Union has approved the EU Candidate Status for which three countries?
A) Ukraine, Moldova and Russia
B) Ukraine, Moldova and Georgia
C) Moldova, Georgia and Armenia
D) Georgia, Armenia and Russia