Djokovic wins seventh Wimbledon title and 21st Grand Slam

Wimbledon 2022: Novak Djokovic won a seventh Wimbledon title and 21st Grand Slam crown with a four-set triumph over Nick Kyrgios. Elena Rybakina of Kazakhstan clinched the Women's Singles title.

Key Highlights:

  • The 35-year-old Serb beat unseeded Australian Nick Kyrgios 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, 7-6(3) to equal Pete Sampras's mark of seven titles at the All England Club and move within one of the men's record of eight held by Roger Federer.
  • He is now one Slam ahead of Federer in the all-time race and just one behind Rafael Nadal's record of 22 majors.
  • He is also just the fourth man in the Open era to win four successive Wimbledon titles after Federer, Sampras and Bjorn Borg.

Women Singles:

  • Kazakhstan’s Elena Rybakina became the first-ever Kazakh female player in the Open Era to win a WTA title on grass and is also the Kazakh female player with the most WTA-level titles in the Open Era (3).
  • She made a brilliant comeback after being set down to beat Tunisian third-seed Ons Jabeur 3-6, 6-2, 6-2 and win the Women’s Singles title at Wimbledon.
  • The 23-year-old has also become the youngest female player to win the title in Wimbledon since Petra Kvitova in 2011.

Complete List of Winners in Different Categories:

  • Men’s singles: Novak Djokovic of Czech Republic
  • Women’s singles: Elena Rybakina of Kazakhstan
  • Mixed doubles: United Kingdom’s Neal Skupski and Desirae Krawczyk of United States
  • Women’s doubles: Czech Republic’s Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova
  • Men’s doubles: Australia’s Matthew Ebden and Max Purcell

Wimbledon Championships 2022:

  • The Wimbledon Championships 2022 is a Grand Slam tennis tournament.
  • It takes place at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in Wimbledon, London, United Kingdom.
  • The tournament was played on grass courts, with all main draw matches to be played from 27th June to 10th July 2022, at the All England lawn tennis and croquet club, Wimbledon.