Centre Formulates In-Principle Approval To Set Up 21 New Greenfield Airports

Centre Formulates In-Principle Approval To Set Up 21 New Greenfield Airports

The Indian Government has granted ‘In-Principle’ approval for the establishment of 21 new greenfield airports under the Greenfield Airports (GFA) Policy, 2008.

These airports are planned to be set up in states like Goa, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Puducherry, Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal, Sikkim, Kerala, and Arunachal Pradesh.

According to the Ministry of Civil Aviation, out of the 21 new airports, Mopa (Goa), Navi Mumbai (Maharashtra), Noida-Jewar (Uttar Pradesh), Bhogapuram (Andhra Pradesh), Karaikal (Puducherry), Dholera and Hirasar (Gujarat) are the seven green international airports.

Other 14 airports are namely, Shirdi and Sindhudurg in Maharashtra, Kalaburagi, Vijayapura, Hassan and Shivamogga in Karnataka, Dabra (Gwalior) in Madhya Pradesh, Kushinagar in Uttar Pradesh, Dagadarthi, Orvakal (Kurnool) in Andhra Pradesh, Durgapur (Andal) in West Bengal, Pakyong in Sikkim, Kannur in Kerala and Hollongi (Itanagar) in Arunachal Pradesh across the country. 

11 Greenfield airports have been operationalised.  The airports at Durgapur, Shirdi, Kannur, Pakyong, Kalaburagi, Orvakal (Kurnool), Sindhudurg, Kushinagar, Itanagar, Mopa and Shivamogga have been operationalised.

What are Greenfield Airports?
A greenfield airport is an aviation facility with greenfield project characteristics.  They are built from scratch on previously undeveloped or empty land. The term "greenfield" emphasises their environmentally friendly characteristics, as they aim to minimise the impact on nature during the construction and commissioning processes.

Introduction of Greenfield Airports in India
The Greenfield Airports (GFA) Policy was formulated by the government in 2008. This policy aims to provide detailed guidelines, procedures, and steps for the establishment of Greenfield airports throughout the country.